- There are times when a player will proceed under a Rule which does not apply to the situation at hand. As an official, you must decide if there is another Rule which is applicable in the circumstance.
- When a ball is put into play under an inapplicable Rule (and prior to a stroke), the player may lift the ball and correct the error without penalty unless the ball is put back into play at the location of the prior stroke. Rule 18.1 (Stroke and Distance) takes precedence over Rule 14.5a. 14.5a and 18.1
- Once a player has made a stroke at a ball put into play under an inapplicable Rule, the Committee must decide what Rule applies. Section 6c(9) of the Committee Procedures provides examples of rulings when a player has made a stroke at a ball played under an inapplicable Rule.
- When a player makes a stroke at a ball under an inapplicable rule, it is likely the player played from a wrong place unless the player played from the location of the prior stroke 14.7a and 18.1
- Keep in mind the Committee can never rule that the player took unplayable ball relief. Only the player can declare their ball unplayable. 19.1