Home | Search | FAQ's

The Roving Official picture
The Roving Official
×

Golf Rules Questions - Stroke Play

  1. In a stroke play event, a player uncertain about the correct procedure, decides to complete a hole with two balls and chooses to score with the second ball......(Ref. SN-101)
  2. In one stroke play event, Player A and Player B are tied after 18 holes. In a separate match play event Player C and Player D are also tied. Before beginning a hole-by-hole playoff the players may:.....(Ref. SN-102)
  3. After completing a stroke play event, a player and their marker certify the scorecard. The player also adds the hole-by-hole scores and records the total score. The player has added incorrectly with a total score 1 stroke too low. The Committee must:.....(Ref. SN-103)
  4. In stroke play, a player who is uncertain about the right procedure while playing a hole may complete the hole with two balls without penalty. The player should choose which ball will count by announcing that choice to their marker or to another player before making another stroke. If the player does not choose in time, the original ball is treated as the ball chosen by default......(Ref. TF-32)
  5. In stroke play, a player was doubtful of their rights and played a second ball. If the Rules do not permit the procedure used for both balls, the original ball must count......(Ref. 500Q-315)
  6. In stroke play, a player's ball lay in the general area in a flowerbed and the player was uncertain if relief was allowed. The player decided to play a second ball under Rule 20.1c. The player played the original ball as it lay and then the second ball, taking relief under the abnormal course condition relief Rule (16.1b). However, the player failed to choose which ball should count before making a stroke. The player reported to the Committee who confirmed that play from the flowerbed was prohibited by a Local Rule that declared it to be a no play zone from which relief without penalty was mandatory. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-440)
  7. In stroke play, a player plays a second ball in a situation where they are uncertain what to do. Which of the following is true?.....(Ref. 500Q-497)
  8. In stroke play, a player's ball is in a questionable area from which relief may be available from abnormal course conditions (Rule 16.1b). Since the player is uncertain as to how to play, the player decides to play a second ball, choosing to score with the ball played under the Rule. The player lifts the original ball without marking the spot where it lay and takes proper relief. The player then places a second ball on the spot where the original ball lay in the questionable area and makes a stroke at that ball. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-30)