Home | Search | FAQ's

The Roving Official picture
The Roving Official
×

Golf Rules Questions - Crib Sheet

  1. In stroke play, while fairly taking their stance, a player backs into a stake defining out of bounds that interferes with their line of play bending it out of position. The player does not fix the stake before their stroke. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. SN-12)
  2. In stroke play, while carefully getting into position to hit a shot among trees, a player backs into a branch breaking it. The player gets the general penalty......(Ref. SN-13)
  3. Prior to a tee shot, a player is allowed to break branches that are hanging over the teeing area from a tree that is rooted outside a teeing area......(Ref. SN-88)
  4. In stroke play, unaware of the Rules, Player A asks Player B to break a branch from a tree that is on Player A's line of play and Player B complies......(Ref. SN-89)
  5. On the putting green, a player finds an acorn solidly embedded on their line of play. The only way to remove the acorn is by prying it loose with a ball-mark repair tool. After removing the acorn, the player repairs the depression left by the acorn. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. SN-162)
  6. A player is always penalized for removing a boundary stake and not replacing it prior to making a stroke......(Ref. SN-168)
  7. After taking relief from an embedded ball, the pitch mark from the embedded ball is not on the player's line of play. The player may repair the pitch mark prior to their stroke......(Ref. SN-171)
  8. A player deliberately places their golf bag in a position such that the player's bunker shot from across the putting green might be stopped by the player's golf bag. The player's bunker shot comes to rest on the putting green......(Ref. SN-173)
  9. A player hits a long putt on a putting green and their ball accidentally hits a club that the player left on the putting green......(Ref. SN-174)
  10. A player deliberately tilts the flagstick at an angle in the hole. The player's long putt comes up 6 inches short of the hole......(Ref. SN-175)
  11. A player's ball lies in a bunker. In taking their stance the player knocks down the side of the bunker to get a better stance. Unable to get a good stance, the player decides to take unplayable ball relief outside the bunker using the back-on-the-line option......(Ref. SN-179)
  12. Players A, B, and C are playing together in a stroke play event. Prior to A's short chip shot, C places a rake in front of a bunker to prevent A's ball from rolling into the bunker. A's ball stays on the putting green. Player B also has a short chip shot. While B's ball is in motion, C removes the rake so B's ball will roll into the bunker. B's ball also stays on the putting green......(Ref. SN-202)
  13. While taking a stance in the general area, a player is standing on a divot hole. The player sees the divot, replaces it, and takes their stance again......(Ref. SN-211)
  14. A player decides to take lateral relief from a penalty area. Prior to dropping the ball, the player measures a 2 club-length relief area and repairs a divot on the far right-hand side of the relief area. The player then drops a ball within the relief area on the far left-hand side of the relief area away from the divot ensuring that the replaced divot is not on the player's line of play......(Ref. SN-215)
  15. A player always gets the general penalty for worsening the conditions affecting the stroke of another player......(Ref. SN-298)
  16. A player may restore the conditions affecting the stroke when a referee goes into a bunker to make a Ruling......(Ref. SN-316)
  17. Before playing a ball that has come to rest on a branch of a tree, a player moves their motorized cart to assist in making the stroke by standing on the cart. The player removes the cart before making the stroke. There is no penalty......(Ref. TF-17)
  18. A player, whose ball lies in a bunker, asks for a ruling from a referee, who creates footprints that worsen the conditions affecting the stroke of the player (line of play). The player smooths the footprints made by the referee prior to the player's stroke at the ball. There is no penalty......(Ref. TF-49)
  19. A player retrieves their ball that has rolled into a bunker after taking relief in the general area under a Rule, creating footprints on their line of play. The player restores the bunker to its previous condition by raking the footprints. There is no penalty because the player was caring for the course......(Ref. TF-58)
  20. Prior to dropping a ball in taking free relief from ground under repair, a player deliberately breaks a branch of a small bush that lies adjacent to the relief area that might affect their stroke to be made after the dropped ball comes to rest in the relief area. There is no penalty......(Ref. TF-10)
  21. In stroke play with a group of A and B, A's ball lies under a partially detached tree branch and is in discussions with an official about whether A is allowed free relief. B lifts the branch to argue A's case for relief, accidentally worsening A's line of play. B gets the general penalty......(Ref. TF-8)
  22. After playing from a bunker, a player smooths footprints that affects the stroke to be made by another player. There is no penalty if the player smooths the footprints to care for the course......(Ref. TF-6)
  23. A player presses down the grass behind their ball in play, improving the lie of the ball and accidentally moving the ball as well. The ball is replaced before the stroke. The player gets a total of three penalty strokes......(Ref. TF-34)
  24. A player marks and lifts their ball in a bunker when the Committee orders a suspension of play. During the suspension, course maintenance staff smooths the sand, altering the lie of the spot where the original ball lay. In replacing the ball, the player must re-create the original lie as much as possible......(Ref. TF-71)
  25. A player marks and lifts their ball in a bunker when the Committee orders a suspension of play. During the suspension, wind blows a small tree down that severely alters the conditions of the spot where the original ball lay. The player is not allowed to recreate the original lie to improve the worsened conditions......(Ref. TF-60)
  26. In stroke play, B's ball lies on the fringe of the putting green. Prior to B's stroke at their ball, A deliberately steps on B's line of play on the putting green and damaged it. A gets the general penalty and B may restore the worsened conditions on the putting green as nearly as possible......(Ref. TF-7)
  27. In a Four-Ball match with side A-B, A touches the putting green in pointing out the line of play for B's putt without improving the conditions for the stroke. The spot that A touches is also on A's line of play. There is no penalty to either player......(Ref. TF-90)
  28. In pointing out the line of play, a caddie removed an insect from the edge of the hole and touched the inside of the hole. The player gets the general penalty......(Ref. TF-64)
  29. A player sees their uphill chip shot returning to the spot from where they played it. The player replaces the large divot taken by the shot into the divot hole and presses it down for the purpose of preventing the ball coming to rest in a bad lie. The ball stops short of the replaced divot. There is no penalty......(Ref. TF-13)
  30. The player may repair damage to the hole on the putting green that was caused by removing the flagstick and where the dimensions of the hole have been changed......(Ref. TF-11)
  31. In stroke play, a player's ball is embedded in its own pitch-mark after a stroke in the general area. The player takes relief under the embedded ball relief Rule (16.3b) but, before dropping a ball, the player repairs the pitch-mark and other indentations behind where the ball was embedded. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-141)
  32. A player's ball lies in the general area but a bunker is situated between the player's ball and the hole. Which one of the following is true?.....(Ref. 500Q-149)
  33. A player places their ball on a tee within the teeing area of the hole being played. Before the player makes their first stroke from the teeing area, the player moves a tee-marker defining the teeing area to improve the conditions affecting the stroke. The player then makes a stroke. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-162)
  34. In stroke play, the hole is located close to the edge of a greenside bunker that lies between a player's ball and the putting green. The player walks 100-yards from their ball into the bunker to assess their line of play. Before leaving the bunker, the player rakes their footprints. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-172)
  35. In stroke play, before taking their stance, a player removes a stake defining out of bounds that interferes with their line of play. The player replaces the stake before their stroke. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-175)
  36. On the putting green, a player picks up an acorn on their line of play that was slightly pushed into the surface by another player's shoe in their stepping on the acorn. The player also repairs the depression left by the acorn. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-179)
  37. A player's ball lies in the general area on a path that is covered with wood chips. The player removes some chips and then properly takes relief under the abnormal course conditions relief Rule (16.1b). What is the ruling in stroke play?.....(Ref. 500Q-182)
  38. In stroke play, a player is in the process of taking relief from ground under repair in the general area. Before the player drops a ball, they remove sand and loose soil from the area in which they intend to drop the ball. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-195)
  39. Which of the following does not result in a player getting a penalty when doing so improves the conditions affecting the stroke?.....(Ref. 500Q-242)
  40. A player may not move a natural object to see if it is loose if in doing so the lie of the player's ball is improved......(Ref. 500Q-262)
  41. If a ball has been played from and is no longer in a bunker, the player may not touch or smooth sand in the bunker if the spot of smoothing is on their line of play......(Ref. 500Q-271)
  42. A player may take reasonable actions to mark the spot of their ball even if doing so improves the conditions affecting the stroke......(Ref. 500Q-283)
  43. A player is disqualified if they purposely alter the line of play of another player......(Ref. 500Q-286)
  44. A spectator removed a movable gallery control rope without the player's authority that altered the conditions affecting their stroke. The player may not re-install the rope......(Ref. 500Q-328)
  45. A player is not allowed to back into a branch of a tree causing it to move out of the way even if that is the only way that they can take their stance......(Ref. 500Q-330)
  46. A player lifts their ball using the Rule for ball interfering with play (Rule 15.3b) and their opponent alters the lie of the lifted ball. The player must replace the ball using the Rule for altered lies (Rule 14.2d)......(Ref. 500Q-346)
  47. A player's ball lies in the general area and temporary water on the putting green intervenes between the ball and the hole. The player is allowed relief under the abnormal course conditions relief Rule (16.1b)......(Ref. 500Q-353)
  48. In match play, a player's ball lies in a fairway bunker. The player makes a stroke at the ball that comes to rest in the same bunker but much closer to the hole. Before the player's next stroke, their caddie rakes the area of the previous stroke and other areas nearby to care for the course. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-376)
  49. In match play, as a result of a stroke, a player's divot comes to rest affecting the lie of their opponent's ball that lies in a penalty area. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-386)
  50. In stroke play, a player takes their stance in a bunker to play the ball lying in a bunker. The player changes their mind regarding club selection, leaves the bunker and returns with a different club. Before making the stroke, the player rakes the bunker where they first took their stance because they want to make a different type of stroke with a firmer stance. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-390)
  51. In stroke play, to free their hands while attending the flagstick, a player's caddie casually places the player's sand wedge on the putting green but not to indicate the line of play. After the player putts and the ball nears the hole, the caddie removes the flagstick. The caddie also removes the wedge from the putting green, fearing that the player's ball will strike it. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-393)
  52. In match play, a player's ball lies in a bunker, while their opponent's ball lies on the putting green, but farther from the hole. The player plays out of turn and the ball comes to rest on the putting green. The player then rakes the bunker. After the player has raked the bunker, the opponent recalls the stroke and requires the player to replay. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-400)
  53. A player's ball lies in the general area outside an area on the course that is marked as ground under repair (GUR). High grass growing within the GUR interferes with the player's swing, but not with the lie of the ball, or with their stance. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-416)
  54. In Four-Ball match play, a player improves conditions affecting the stroke to be made by their partner but the action is of no help to the player. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-418)
  55. In stroke play with the player's ball on the putting green, a player's caddie touches the putting green with the player's club in pointing out the line of play without improving the conditions affecting the stroke. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-422)
  56. A player makes a stroke at their ball that lies in a greenside bunker. The ball comes to rest over the green and out of bounds. The player is now required to take stroke-and-distance relief by dropping a ball in the bunker. Which of the following is false before the player drops a ball?.....(Ref. 500Q-426)
  57. A player's ball lies on the fringe of the putting green and their line of play is affected by a pitch-mark also on the fringe made by another player's ball. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-429)
  58. In stroke play, a player's ball lies in a bunker. While entering the bunker, the player accidentally kicks a small stone into the bunker. Before the player takes their stance, the player removes the stone that affects the conditions near their ball. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-449)
  59. After the player's ball came to rest, conditions affecting the stroke are worsened by an animal, or by any person other than the player or anyone acting for the player. Which of the following is false?.....(Ref. 500Q-455)
  60. In stroke play, after resuming play that was suspended due to a rainstorm, a player's ball comes to rest near a large bush. In making several practice swings, the player causes water on a branch of the bush to be removed, thus eliminating the distraction from the water during their stroke. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-458)
  61. A player intends to take relief for a ball that lies in ground under repair on a steep slope. There is a large bush near the relief area in which the player must drop a ball. It is likely that after the drop the ball will come to rest in the relief area. However, it is also likely that the ball might move from the relief area before the stroke is made and come to rest near the bush. The player breaks off a small part of the bush that might interfere with their stance after relief if the ball should move. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-465)
  62. Which is false regarding improving conditions affecting a player's play?.....(Ref. 500Q-470)
  63. In stroke play, a player accidentally steps on and moves their ball in the fairway, altering the original lie that was known. The player is told this is a penalty and the ball must be replaced. The player lifts the ball, cleans it, places it on the nearest spot with a lie most similar to the original lie within one club-length from its original spot, and plays. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-488)
  64. In stroke play, A plays the ball of B that was lying in the general area not in sand and the lie of B's ball is altered. Which is true?.....(Ref. 500Q-494)
  65. In which of the following has the player avoided a penalty by restoring the conditions that they improved in breach of the Rules?.....(Ref. 500Q-500)
  66. A player asks a spectator to move a small stone near their ball. The spectator lifts the stone that directly causes the player's ball to move. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-108)
  67. A player marks and lifts a ball embedded in a bunker when play is suspended. During the suspension, the bunker is prepared by the maintenance staff and the surface of sand is now smooth. The player resumes play by placing a ball on the estimated spot from which the ball was lifted but on the smooth surface and plays it. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-73)
  68. A player tees the ball near and behind the left tee-marker but within the teeing area. The player then breaks a branch of a small tree not growing in the teeing area that would interfere with their intended right-handed stroke at the teed ball. Deciding to make a different stroke at the ball, the player lifts the ball and tees it near and behind the right tee-marker from where the stroke is made. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-18)
  69. Part of a fence that is situated out of bounds (not a boundary fence) leans over onto the course affecting the player's stroke at a ball in bounds. The player pushes the fence back into an upright position so that there is no interference. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-63)
  70. A player plays a ball from the general area, replaces their divot and later learns that they must play again from there under penalty of stroke and distance. In addition to the penalty of stroke and distance, what penalty does the player get?.....(Ref. RQ-64)
  71. A player's tee shot comes to rest in an area of ground under repair in the general area, just short of a bunker that is on their line of play. The player takes relief behind the bunker from the abnormal course condition and the dropped ball rolls forward out of the relief area into the bunker. While walking into the bunker to retrieve the ball to drop it again, the player creates numerous footprints on their line of play when the ball will be dropped again in the relief area. The player rakes the bunker to restore the bunker to its previous condition. This restoration improves conditions affecting the stroke from the relief area. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-112)
  72. A small stone lies near a player's ball in a bunker. The player carefully lifts the stone but a mound of sand is removed and conditions affecting the stroke are improved. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-20)
  73. A player's ball lies on a path through the fairway covered with gravel. The player removes some of the gravel near the ball and then takes free relief from the path for interference from abnormal course conditions (Rule 16.1b). What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-28)
  74. A player pulls a boundary stake out of the ground that interferes with their stance improving the conditions affecting the stroke, but part of the stake breaks during removal. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-109)