Home | Search | FAQ's

The Roving Official picture
The Roving Official
×

Golf Rules Questions - Abnormal Course Conditions

  1. In which of the following situations is water on the ground not temporary water......(Ref. SN-73)
  2. In taking a drop from an abnormal course condition, a player deliberately places their foot over a divot to prevent the ball from rolling into the divot. The dropped ball hits the player's foot after hitting the ground. The ruling is:.....(Ref. SN-77)
  3. A player lifts their ball to take unplayable ball relief and then discovers it was in an abnormal course condition. The player may still take free relief from the abnormal course condition......(Ref. SN-100)
  4. When two holes share the same putting green, the hole which the player is not playing is an immovable obstruction from which the player is entitled to relief......(Ref. SN-130)
  5. Which of the following statements is true?.....(Ref. SN-133)
  6. In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on an animal hole in a yellow penalty area. The player drops a ball within 1 club-length of the nearest point of complete relief within the penalty area and plays a stroke. Which is correct?.....(Ref. SN-136)
  7. A player's ball lies on an aeration hole on the fringe of a putting green. The player is allowed relief under Rule 16.1 (Abnormal Course Conditions)......(Ref. SN-138)
  8. A rut made by a tractor is always ground under repair because it is a hole made by the maintenance staff whether or not it is marked as ground under repair......(Ref. SN-150)
  9. A player's ball rests in temporary water inside a bunker. Which of the following is true with regard to abnormal course condition relief?.....(Ref. SN-172)
  10. A player's ball lies on a putting green with temporary water between the ball and the hole. Which of the following is false?.....(Ref. SN-180)
  11. The only way a player may move a ball from inside a bunker to outside a bunker without having interference from an abnormal course condition is by taking 2 penalty strokes......(Ref. SN-220)
  12. A player's ball lies on a putting green that is shared by 2 holes. The player's putt goes into the wrong hole. The player must:.....(Ref. SN-237)
  13. When taking relief from an abnormal course condition, a player must always make their next stroke from within the relief area to avoid a penalty......(Ref. SN-239)
  14. The loose soil dug out by an animal surrounding an animal hole is an abnormal course condition......(Ref. SN-244)
  15. Which Local Rule is the Committee allowed to adopt pertaining to abnormal course conditions?.....(Ref. SN-246)
  16. A player's ball lies in an animal footprint in the general area and the same animal has left footprints on the putting green. The player takes relief under the Abnormal Course Condition rule and repairs the damage to the putting green......(Ref. SN-250)
  17. Which of the following is correct when a player takes back-on-the-line relief from a penalty area, unplayable ball, or abnormal course condition from a bunker?.....(Ref. SN-252)
  18. A hole in the ground made by a bird is an abnormal course condition......(Ref. SN-257)
  19. The 3 conditions that comprise Abnormal Course Condition are Animal Hole, Ground Under Repair, and Temporary Water......(Ref. SN-264)
  20. A player's ball lies in a bunker near a swarm of stinging bees. Which of the following is false?.....(Ref. SN-266)
  21. The loose material surrounding an animal hole is not considered part of the animal hole......(Ref. SN-276)
  22. In taking relief from an abnormal course condition on a putting green and complete relief is available off the putting green, the player may choose to take maximum available relief on the putting green......(Ref. SN-290)
  23. A branch of a dead bush rooted in an area defined as ground under repair interferes with the swing of a player whose ball lies outside the ground under repair in the general area. The player is allowed free relief......(Ref. TF-82)
  24. In a stroke play event, A and their marker B, who is also a player, are unsure if the relief area for an abnormal course condition is one club-length or two. Unaware of the Rule, they agree that it is two club-lengths and A takes relief from interference with a ball dropped almost two club-lengths from the nearest point of complete relief and continues play. Both players are disqualified......(Ref. TF-2)
  25. Play is suspended (an immediate suspension due to lightning) when a player is in the process of taking relief from an abnormal course condition. The player continued measuring and dropped a ball in the determined relief area but did not make another stroke. The player is disqualified for not stopping play......(Ref. TF-65)
  26. A "dangerous animal condition" exists when a dangerous animal near a ball could cause serious physical injury to the player if they had to play the ball as it lies......(Ref. TF-22)
  27. A player's ball lies near a live alligator. Both the player's ball and the alligator are in a penalty area. The player may take free relief within the penalty area or penalty relief outside the penalty area......(Ref. TF-21)
  28. The Committee has defined all bird nests on the course to be no play zones. A player's ball comes to rest near a bird nest and both the ball and the nest lie in a penalty area. The nest interferes with the player's intended swing. The player must take penalty relief under the penalty area Rule......(Ref. TF-20)
  29. Ground under repair does not include material piled for removal......(Ref. 500Q-30)
  30. Any defined ground under repair includes all ground inside the edge of the defined area......(Ref. 500Q-68)
  31. Any temporary accumulation of water on the course that is not in a penalty area and can be seen before or after a player takes a stance is temporary water......(Ref. 500Q-84)
  32. Grass cuttings left on the course that have been abandoned and are not intended to be removed are not ground under repair unless defined by the Committee......(Ref. 500Q-97)
  33. When a line on the ground defines the boundary edge, stakes may be used to show where the boundary edge is, but they have no other meaning......(Ref. 500Q-99)
  34. An animal hole includes any hole dug in the ground by an animal, except for holes dug by animals that are also defined as loose impediments, such as worms or insects......(Ref. 500Q-122)
  35. Stakes are inside ground under repair (GUR) when the edge of GUR is defined by stakes......(Ref. 500Q-124)
  36. Which is true regarding the defined area of ground under repair (GUR)?.....(Ref. 500Q-150)
  37. Which is true regarding temporary water in the general area?.....(Ref. 500Q-183)
  38. Because a player's ball lies in a bunker and there is no nearest point of complete relief from temporary water, the player will use the point of maximum available relief. Which is false about this point?.....(Ref. 500Q-236)
  39. A ball lies in ground under repair when the ball touches ground under repair......(Ref. 500Q-109)
  40. A player's ball lies off but near the putting green. The player is allowed relief from temporary water that exists on the putting green if it is on their line of play......(Ref. 500Q-119)
  41. In stroke play, when starting play of a hole, a player's ball played from the teeing area strikes a tree and comes to rest within the teeing area of the hole being played. The player presses down some heavy grass that is growing in the teeing area and removes dew, frost and water in the teeing area before playing their shot. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-128)
  42. In stroke play, a player's ball lies in bounds in the general area. The player's swing has interference from a metal chain-link fence not defining out of bounds but all of which lies out of bounds. The player takes relief under the abnormal course conditions relief Rule (16.1b) and plays the ball. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-151)
  43. A player's ball lies in the general area underneath a detached large branch of a tree that was felled by a storm the previous day. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-185)
  44. A player's ball is not found within three minutes of search in a tree that is rooted in an area marked as ground under repair. It is virtually certain that the ball is in the tree. Which is false?.....(Ref. 500Q-238)
  45. A player's ball lies in the general area behind a tree near an area marked as ground under repair. The only reasonable play is to make a stroke to the side in a direction away from the hole but their stance for such a stroke is in ground under repair. The player asks a referee for relief for the stroke to the side. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-239)
  46. A player may repair damage to the putting green by animals such as hoof indentations......(Ref. 500Q-258)
  47. A ball enters an animal hole, the entrance to which is out of bounds, and comes to rest underground in bounds. The ball is considered to be out of bounds......(Ref. 500Q-295)
  48. If a player's ball is in a penalty area, there is no relief under the abnormal course conditions relief Rule (16.1), the embedded ball relief Rule (16.3) or the unplayable ball Rule (19)......(Ref. 500Q-335)
  49. The player's ball is in overflow onto the general area from a penalty area and the overflow is seen only after the player takes their stance. The ball is not in temporary water......(Ref. 500Q-356)
  50. A player's ball lies in a small depression in the general area. The player may mark and lift it to determine whether it is in a hole made by an animal......(Ref. 500Q-360)
  51. In stroke play in the general area, a player is unaware that their ball lies in ground under repair and decides to take relief under the unplayable ball Rule (19.2). Before the player lifts the ball and unknown to the player, the wind causes it to move from point A to point B still within the ground under repair. Then realizing that the ball lies in ground under repair at B, the player lifts the ball, does not replace it at A, takes relief under the abnormal course conditions relief Rule (16.1b) for a ball at rest at B and completes the hole. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-412)
  52. A referee is in the player's view near the putting green where the player's ball lies. The area surrounding the hole on the putting green is covered with temporary water and the hole itself is filled with water. Which is false?.....(Ref. 500Q-413)
  53. A player's ball lies in the general area outside an area on the course that is marked as ground under repair (GUR). High grass growing within the GUR interferes with the player's swing, but not with the lie of the ball, or with their stance. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-416)
  54. A player's ball lies in a bunker that is completely covered by temporary water. In some places, the water is several inches deep. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. 500Q-423)
  55. Which of the following is false regarding relief under the abnormal course condition relief Rule (16.1b)?.....(Ref. 500Q-427)
  56. A player drops a ball in taking relief under the abnormal course conditions relief Rule (16.1b) for a ball that lies on a paved cart path in the general area. Which is false?.....(Ref. 500Q-453)
  57. Which is true regarding relief from an abnormal course condition when a player's ball lies on the putting green?.....(Ref. 500Q-498)
  58. A player takes a practice swing in a bunker where their ball lies to see if an animal hole in the same bunker interferes with their swing. The player inadvertently touches a mound of sand that is a part of the animal hole. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-35)
  59. A player's ball comes to rest at spot A in temporary water on the putting green. The player decides to take relief and places a ball on the nearest point of complete relief (spot B), which happens to be on the putting green. While the player is preparing to make the next stroke, the wind blows the ball to spot C several feet away. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-115)
  60. In the general area, there are two areas of temporary water that are close together where the player has interference from one area but not the other. The player takes complete relief from the first area (Rule 16.1b) and the ball comes to rest within the relief area where interference no longer exists from the first area of temporary water but there is interference from the second area. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-24)
  61. A player's ball lies in the general area in ground under repair. The player also has interference with their intended swing by a small permanent wooden sign outside the ground under repair. The player wishes to take relief. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-69)
  62. A player's ball is moving in temporary water. The player arrives at the ball when it is at spot A and realizes that when the ball gets to spot B, five yards away, the relief area will be in a much better spot than if relief is taken for a ball at spot A. The player delays play, takes relief with a ball at spot B and makes a stroke. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-80)
  63. In the general area, a player's ball comes to rest in an animal hole with a large bush immediately next to and overhanging the animal hole. The player asks for free relief from the abnormal course condition (Rule 16.1b). Which is false?.....(Ref. RQ-82)
  64. A player's ball comes to rest in a large area of water adjacent to a penalty area but outside the stakes defining the penalty area. Because of the configuration of the ground, the water is clearly a part of the penalty area. The player takes relief under the penalty area Rule by taking stroke-and-distance relief. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-25)
  65. In stroke play, a player's ball is in a questionable area from which relief may be available from abnormal course conditions (Rule 16.1b). Since the player is uncertain as to how to play, the player decides to play a second ball, choosing to score with the ball played under the Rule. The player lifts the original ball without marking the spot where it lay and takes proper relief. The player then places a second ball on the spot where the original ball lay in the questionable area and makes a stroke at that ball. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-30)
  66. Which of the following is true regarding an animal hole?.....(Ref. RQ-39)
  67. In the general area, a player has determined the relief area for an abnormal course condition (Rule 16.1b) to be within the trunk of a large tree. It is not physically possible to drop a ball in any part of the identified relief area. What is the ruling?.....(Ref. RQ-97)
  68. Which of the following statements is true?.....(Ref. RQ-111)